Skip to Page Content

About Us

    Welcome to the Society for Human Resource Management - Columbus (Georgia) Area Chapter website! We're glad you're here. Please take a few minutes to browse our website and get to know us better.

    You'll find up-to-date information about our chapter and its activities, articles about current human resource issues that will interest you, and a posting center where you can ask your HR questions and see how other HR professionals respond.

    SHRM - Columbus Area is your professional resource. Our members pride themselves on keeping abreast of legislative and people issues that affect the workplace.



    If you are not a current member of SHRM Columbus and are interested in becoming one, please contact

    2021 Officers and Committees

    Chair of the Board: Ron Cooper, PHR, SHRM-CP, 706.562.2275 -


    President: Carla Martin, 706-341-4641,



    President-Elect:  Emily Simpson, SHRM-CP 229.942.2749,


    Treasurer:  Daria Cruzen, 706.324.1209,    

    Workforce Readiness - Chair:  Lyn Riggsby-Gonzalez, 706.507.8765 -


    Diversity - Chair: Deana Berger, 706.683.8002 -

    Diversity - Vice-Chair:   Kelly Walker 706-327-7877


    Secretary:  Sonya Martin, PHR, SHRM-CP, 706.243.6856 -


    Hospitality Chair:  Sofia White
    Hospitality - Vice-Chair:  Connie Williams - 706.243.0174 - 


    Governmental Affairs - Chair:Mike Stone, 706.323.3613, x 308,

    Governmental Affairs - Vice-Chair: Kitty Stevens

    Membership - Chair:  Sharon Mapes - 706.596.1313 x 70110 -

    Membership - Vice-Chair:  Melissa Moore-  -  
    Workforce Readiness - Chair:  Donna Dailey - Office


    Workforce Readiness - Vice Chair - Tibi Westbrook, PHR, SHRM-CP -

    Public Relations Chair:  Casey Chesser, 706.322.7762 X5466,


    College Relations - Chair:   Neal Thomson, 706.507-8156,

    College Relations - Vice-Chair: Crystal Waye, 706.641.5669 -


    Professional Development Chair:  (vacant)


    Professional Development Vice-Chair:  Annette Gregg